This is the "Home" page of the "American Revolution: Causes & Events" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Revolution: Causes & Events  

Resources for 6th grade students. Research on Acts/Proclamations; Colonialist responses; Loyalist responses.
Last Updated: Mar 22, 2012 URL: http://rhinelanderhs.libguides.com/AmericanRev Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FINDING CREDIBLE WEBSITES

 

VIDEO: Evaluating websites

 

GAME: Good Apple, Bad Apple

Test your web page evaluation skills:  Author  Publisher  Accuracy

GOOD APPLE, BAD APPLE

 

Directions

Use the Graphic Organizer to gather your notes.

CAUSES:  Using your textbook, videos, websites, books, etc. fill out the following columns with information describing the event, the causes of the event, and the effects of the event.

EVENTS:  Using your textbook, videos, websites, books, etc. fill out the following columns.  What is each act?  How did the Colonist react, and then how did Parliament and the King respond to the Colonists?

 

PREPARE: Gather Keywords

Use these words and phrases to search World Book Encyclopedia, Destiny library catalog, EasyBib, Nettrekker, or History Reference Center. If you find helpful keywords and subjects while researching "steal them" and USE them!!

KEYWORD PHRASES
  • United States AND Revolution
  • Revolution AND Causes
  • Patriots
  • Loyalists

EVENTS 
  • American Revolution
  • Revolutionary War
  • Boston Massacre
  • Boston Tea Party
  • Battle of Lexington
  • Battle of Concord
PEOPLE
  • George Washington, Paul Revere, or names of other important people of the time
  • Minutemen
  • Sons of Liberty

ACTS and PROCLAMATIONS 
  • Proclamation of 1763
  • Sugar Act 1764
  • Stamp Act 1765
  • Quartering Act 1765
  • Townshend Act 1767
  • Tea Act 1773
  • Intolerable Act 1774
  • Boston Port Act 1774
  • Quartering Act 1774
  • Massachusetts Government Act, 1774
 

STEP 1 - ENCYCLOPEDIA: Read a background article


World Book Encyclopedia 

  • Search encyclopedia for background information.  Copy and paste your source citation

.

 

STEP 2 - LIBRARY PRINT COLLECTION: Find books

Destiny library catalog

  • Books are pulled to a cart and are also on this bibliography.  Use indexes and pages with post it notes on them.  Gather information.  Prepare a source citation (author and title).
 

STEP 3 - DATABASES: Find a database article

History Reference Center  

  • Search for one database article.  Gather information and prepare a source citation.

 

STEP 4 - CREDIBLE WEBSITES: Find timelines and information

SEARCH ON YOUR OWN

EasyBib 

    • Search.  Select a website and use Web Evaluation guide to determine credibility.  Gather information.  Prepare a source citation

NetTrekker

    • Search and find ONLY credible websites.  Gather information. Prepare a source citation.

SELECTED WEBSITES

History Place - http://www.historyplace.com/unitedstates/revolution/rev-prel.htm.  This website has a timeline events and a description of each Act.

KidInfo - http://www.kidinfo.com/American_History/American_Revolution.html

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip