Primary Sources
This is the "All databases" page of the "Databases and Subject Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases and Subject Guides   Tags: analysis, criticism, english, literary, literature, research, scholarly  

Start your research here! Use subject tabs in this guide to help select the best sources.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2012 URL: http://rhinelanderhs.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

All databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Searching Tips

  • It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for the information need
  • Databases with subject headings often use the SAME SUBJECT HEADINGS as Destiny Quest Catalog.
  • COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results
  • Databases may cover specific time periods -- pay attention to DATES
  • Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills
 

Social Studies

FACTS ON FILE ONLINE DATABASE

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

World Religions ONLINE

 

SEARCH: Multiple databases

EBSCOhost

Click on the link above, pick the databases you wish to search and the Integrated Search will search across all of them and bring all of your results back in one result list.

 

 

SEARCH: Streaming Videos

Login with your user credentials.
See LMC Password handout, if needed. 

 

SEARCH: RHS Destiny Catalog!

 

What are Databases?

Databases are organized and searchable sources of information.  They can be collections of anything:  encyclopedias, videos, articles from magazines or newspapers, images, copyright free audio.  Often, these sources are available only with a subscription - you need a password to access them from home.  You can find the LMC username and password on our LMC handout.  This page includes our subscription databases AND databases available from Badgerlink (sometimes you need to use your Rhinelander District Public Library card). 

LIST: Databases A-Z

Databases

  • ABC-CLIO  Icon  
    Rating
    Provided by RHS LMC
  • Academic Search Premier  
    Rating
    Scholarly full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc.
  • AccessNewspaperARCHIVE  Icon  
    Rating
    Contains primary source historical newspapers from around the world dating as far back as the 1700s.

    Provided by Badgerlink
  • AltHealth Watch  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • Ancestry Library Edition  
    Rating
    Includes U.S. Federal Census 1790 to 1930, historical maps; WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. USE IN LMC ONLY - no access from home. Provided by RHS LMC.
  • Auto Repair Reference Center  
    Rating
    Provided By Badgerlink
  • Badgerlink
    Online information resources for Wisconsin residents in cooperation with the state's public, school, academic, and special libraries and Internet Service Providers.
  • Business Source Premier  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • Consumer Health Complete  
    Rating
    Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.. Provided by Badgerlink
  • Daily Life through History - ABC-CLIO  
    Rating
    Explores deep factual treatments of topics gathered from recognized scholars and writers in various fields. The Analyze perspectives blend scholarly hypotheses with supporting evidence and are designed to teach students the art of formulating informed theses and stimulate discussion of the arguments presented. Provided by RHS LMC.
  • Encyclopædia Britannica School Edition  
    Rating
    PreK-12 (Elementary, Middle & High)
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • Encyclopædia Britannica Spanish Reference Center (Juvenil & Enciclopedia Universal en Español)  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • GreenFILE  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • Heritage Quest Online  
      
      
    Rating
    U.S. Federal Censuses; Genealogy and local history books; Revolutionary War records; Freedman’s Bank; LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set records. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • History Reference Center (Ebscohost)  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • History Study Center (ProQuest)  
      
      
    Rating
    History Study Center brings together in one place a variety of resources for students, including reference materials, images (photographs and illustrations, video and interactive maps), and Study Units, which gather primary and secondary sources into over 500 survey and specific topics frequently taught in American and World History classes.
  • Humanities International Complete  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • JSTOR  
      
      
    Rating
    Scholarly database of academic journals with emphasis on History, English, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available. In order to use JSTOR from outside of RHS you will need your own account. To create your own RHS account, go to JSTOR RHS Login to register. Follow directions to Register. Provided by RHS LMC
  • Learn 360 (Video streaming)  
    Rating
    Video streaming subscription service for students and staff. Provided by SDR Tech Dept.
  • Learning Express Library  
    Rating
    Provides online diagnosis, practice tests and ebooks to improve test preparation and test taking skills. Practice tests include readiing, math or writing courses, GED, Firefighter, Nursing, CDL, ACT, AP exams, and college math placement exams. Access is free to WI residents. Users must create a personal login on the website to take assessments. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • Literary Reference Center (Ebscohost)  
    Rating
    Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • LitFinder (GALE)  
    Rating
    Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Includes secondary materials like biographies, images, Shakespeare's sonnets, poems by Donald Hall, short stories by Edgar Allan Poe, works by Annie Proulx, etc. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • MasterFILE Premier (EbscoHost)  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • NetTrekker  
    Rating
    Academic search engine that delivers digital resources that have been reviewed and recommended by educators. Use this search engine to improve the quality of your open web searches. Provided by SDR Tech Dept
  • Newspaper Source Plus (EbscoHost)  
    Rating
    Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts. Provided by Badgerlink
  • Novelist (Ebscohost)  
    Rating
    NoveList is a comprehensive readers' advisory solution for fiction lovers. With its intuitive interface and extensive feature content, NoveList will help you to answer the question of what to read next. Provided by Badgerlink
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE/Cengage)  
    Rating
    Provided by RHS LMC
  • Professional Development Collection  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • Regional Business News  
    Rating
    Provided by Badgerlink
  • Science Images and Animations (ECB)  
    Rating
    Library of digital images and animations covers topics in biology, chemistry, earth and space science, physical science and environmental science. The media is designed for use in electronic teaching resources or student multimedia projects. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • Science Reference Center  
      
      
    Rating
    Full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • Soundzabound  
      
      
    Rating
    Music and sound effects that are copyright compliant, content safe and royalty free for use in student projects and other school productions. Students may download and use these Mp3 audio files in podcasts, videos, digital storytelling or any type of multimedia production. Provided by Badgerlink.
  • TeachingBooks.net  
    Rating
    educational and literacy resources for students, parents and after-school programs. Provided by Badgerlink
  • Thinkfinity  
    Rating
    Free resource
  • WISCareers  
    Rating
    Comprehensive information on more than over 700 occupations and overviews of more than 450 specializations. Provided by SDR C&I Dept.
  • WISCAT and Interlibrary Loan Requests  
    Rating
    (NOTE - Interlibrary Loan is suspended starting May 10, 2012 to Sep 10, 2012).

    Online catalog of Wisconsin library holdings. You may also borrow (for free!) any items and request delivery to RHS LMC for your use. Select a book and use the Request This Item button. Fill out the form to submit your request. Provided by RHS LMC
  • World Folklore and Folklife - ABC-CLIO  
    Rating
    Includes international folk and fairy tales, and offers the opportunity for students to research topics as varied as literature, gender roles, and cultural studies. Provided by RHS LMC
  • World Geography - ABC-CLIO  
      
      
    Rating
    Content is organized by country and includes primary and secondary sources. Students can make demographic comparisons between countries. Provided by RHS LMC.
  • World History: The Modern Era - ABC-CLIO  Icon  
    Rating
    Covers history from the Renaissance to the present. The database explores deep factual treatments of topics gathered from recognized scholars and writers in various fields. The Analyze perspectives blend scholarly hypotheses with supporting evidence and are designed to teach students the art of formulating informed theses and stimulate discussion of the arguments presented. Provided by RHS LMC
  • World Religions Online
    Login Hints:
    r..........hs
    h........s
 

CITE your sources!

 


  Easy Bib

Citation and bibliography maker (LMC purchased a subscription).  Register for a free account using a computer at school so you can save your bibliography online.  Our subscription gives you access to Research, Notebook and Bibliography tools at Easybib.


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip