This is the "Information Search" page of the "Intermediate Research Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Intermediate Research Tools  

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2017 URL: http://rhinelanderhs.libguides.com/intermediateresearchtools Print Guide RSS Updates

Information Search Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Breaking Ground

Explore

Start your research here!

Think about ways to approach your topic.

  • What do you want to know?
  • Find keywords.
 

Encyclopedias

Use to get a quick introduction to a topic.

Use this to get a little more, or an intermediate level, of information.

Use this to get an advance level or amount of information on a topic.

 

In Brittanica you can select the level of research you need from this one site.

Image result for dk find out

 

Video Resources

Image result for the kids should see this

 

Key Words

Boolean search logic consists of three key words...

Using AND (dogs and cats) will give you only information that has both of the search items.

Using OR (dogs or cats) will give you information that has both search term and each one individually.

Using NOT (dogs not cats) will give you only information that includes your first item of search.

 

Digging Deeper

Research

Find ways to search for resources on your topic.

  • What sources should you use?
  • Primary sources vs. Secondary sources.
 

Provided by Your Library

Return to Login

Lincoln Library Online

FactCite added more resources and Begining Biographys and Easy Read Myths have Read to Me options! 

 

Provided by Badgerlink

 

Full text of over 70 magazines for elementary school students

 

Baderlink.Net

 

If you are having trouble accessing Badgerlink resources from home or outside of school, use these tip sheets to help you log in using your Student ID (lunch account number), or Staff Library number (contact your library staff if you don't know this number).

 

Additional Resources

Library of Congress

The LOC offers many primary sources for research.  You can find audio and video from historical events, interviews with people, images of documents, maps, and much more.

Related image

NEWSELA Primary Sources offers a great selection of primary source materials for all ages.

 

Usernames and Passwords

Access the username and password information for individual schools below: You must be logged into your Google Drive account.

Central

NCES

Crescent

Pelican

 

Citation Tools

 

Widening the Search

Search with Purpose 

A few search tips:

  • " " [surrounding a phrase with quotation marks] searches for the exact phrase, not each of the words separately
  • .. shows all results from within the designated time range
  • ~ will also search related words
 

Search Engines/Tools

Infotopia search engine logo

 

News Sources

TweenTribune – the daily news sites for kids, tweens and teens – where you'll find the most compelling, relevant and interesting news for 55 million kids in K-12 and their 3.5 million teachers.

Read closely. Think critically. Be worldly. Newsela daily news has relevant news articles that are customizeable to varying lexile levels for students.  Create a free account.

Image result for dogo news

The leading source for current events, news and non-fictional content for Common Core ELA, Science and Social Studies. With thousands of news articles and new original content added daily, we are the leading online source of current events for students, teachers and schools.

 

Dictionaries and Atlases

Childrens' dictionary, thesaurus and rhyming dictionary.

Merriam-Webster Unabridged Dictionary can be found under Your Britannica Resources at the top left of your screen.

An Atlas can be found on the Elementary Level page of Britannica.  

World Book has a Dictionary and an Atlas. Look in the "Other Ways To Find It " section at the top.  

Fact Monster's Reference Section has a Dictionary, Atlas, Encyclopedia and and Almanac!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip